Already have an Account › Login Now | New user Signup
Buy Products
Buy Products

CCA News

ICC Development Program Global Awards go to nine c

The ICC today announced the global winners of the ICC Development Program Awards 2004 with Namibia leading the way with two awards.The Namibia Cricket Board picked up the Best Overall Cricket Development Program award for spreading the reach of the sport while the Oshakati Cricket Club won the Best 'Spirit of Cricket' Initiative for making the sport available to often disadvantaged enthusiasts throughout large parts of Namibia.The judging panel could not separate two exceptionally strong candidates for the Lifetime Service Award, eventually opting to split the accolade between Zakir Hussain Syed and Mark Stafford.

Zakir, who recently retired as Development Manager of the Asian Cricket Council, has been a dedicated and tireless servant of the game throughout his long and distinguished career as a player, writer, commentator and administrator.Mark has been the cornerstone of Vanuatu cricket administration for many years. He was commended by the judges for his vision in pioneering the progress of cricket in the country from a social activity to a popular competitive sport with grassroots and junior development programmes.The global winners were selected by an esteemed judging panel comprising Ehsan Mani (ICC President), Malcolm Gray (former ICC President) and Roger Knight (MCC Chief Executive and Secretary).

Mr Mani said that the standard of entries in the third year of the ICC Development Awards had been higher than ever."As judges we were very impressed with the outstanding quality of development work that has been taking place throughout the world," said Mr Mani.

"All of the submissions were of a very high standard and in many categories we had to make some really tough decisions to choose a winner.

"I congratulate the global winners and commend all of the nominees. The awards recognise excellence in cricket in our Associate and Affiliate member countries and I urge all of those that entered the awards to keep up the admirable work that they are doing to spread the game beyond its traditional boundaries."

Scotland picked up the Best Cricket Promotional Program for its partnership with Lloyds TSB, while Nigeria's pioneering Howzat Program was recognised as the Best Women's Cricket Initiative.Hong Kong's Wellcome Primary Schools Playground League will receive a Brell bowling machine as a reward for winning the Flicx Junior Development Initiative award while the Volunteer of the Year went to M K Suresh for his commitment to junior development, coach and umpire education and elite cricket in Indonesia.There were two new awards in 2004. The UNAIDS Award for raising awareness of HIV and AIDS through cricket initiatives was won by the Botswana Cricket Association while the Photo of the Year was awarded to the California Cricket Academy in USA.The full list of the Global winners in the ICC Development Program Awards 2004 is available below. For more information on these awards and the regional awards that preceded them visit the official awards website at

All global award winners receive a trophy and certificate recognising their achievements. Group award winners will also receive donations of cricket equipment.

Best Overall Cricket Development Program

Namibia Cricket Board

Flicx Junior Development Initiative

Wellcome Primary Schools' Playground League (Hong Kong)

(Prize included Brell bowling machine and 24 balls - for further details please see

Best Women's Cricket Initiative

2004 Howzat Women's Cricket Program (Nigeria)

Best Cricket Promotional Program

Lloyds TSB Scotland, Sponsor (Scotland)

Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative

Oshakati Cricket Club (Namibia)

Photo of the Year

California Cricket Academy (USA)


Botswana Cricket Association

Lifetime Service Award

M. K. Suresh (Indonesia)

Volunteer of the Year

Zakir Hussain Syed

Mark Stafford (Vanuatu)

Updated 06/06/2012 06:25:00